World Book Night at AMC Highlands Ranch 24 Movie Theatre

Join the LaRue Library’s Teen Library Council as we hand out free books.  Meet us in front of the box office to get your free copy of The Perks of Being a Wallflower between 6:30 and 8:00pm on Wednesday, April 23rd.  Come early as we only have 25 copies!PerksWallflower

Posted in Events, LaRue Library, TLC, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

For The Love of Pete, I Need a Good Book

Fear not, fellow book loving human. Parker Library’s Teen Library Council has just the book for you… or 63 if you have a nice block of time coming up soon (*cough* summer *cough*)

TLC Pinterest

 

Posted in Books and Such, Review, TLC | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Peeps!

peepsbookcover.php Peeps.  They’re everyone’s favorite (non-chocolate) Easter candy.  Peeps: Recipes and Crafts to Make with Your Favorite Marshmallow Treat by Charity Ferreira has twenty four recipes and crafts to make using these tasty treats! Continue reading

Posted in Books and Such, TLC | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Blackout Poetry*

*No books were harmed in the composing of this poetry.

In honor of National Poetry Month, Lone Tree TLC members took sharpies to prose to create a brand-new poem. Bonus points if you can identify the original title.

poem_hate
“Hate,” by Kaysi K.
Continue reading

Posted in TLC, Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

You Too Can Haiku!

In honor of National Poetry Month the Teen Library Council (TLC) at James H. LaRue Library in Highlands Ranch created these two haikus.  Ask at your local library for the TLC meeting near you.

TLC is fun.
Tasty snacks are provided.
Hash tag (#) social hour.

It’s time to LERD* out.
Talk books and plan teen programs.
Reading feeds the soul.

*Library Nerd

Posted in TLC | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Fairy Tale Retellings

cinder coverIn honor of the Philip S. Miller Teen Book Club reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer as our April Selection, here is a list of other YA books based on classic fairy tales for your enjoyment.    There are books based Beauty and the Beast, Rapunzel, The Twelve Dancing Princesses and Sleeping Beauty represented.  If you have a favorite fairytale that you feel was left out, please let me know in the comments and I’ll try to find a book for you too!  All links will take you to the library catalog so you can see if they are available or place a hold on them if they are not.

 

Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Prom Drama: Five Novels and a Guidebook

Spring break is over. Finals are approaching. But first? Prom. The dress. The tux. The date? Oh, the drama. Forget prom-worthy looks. How about prom-worthy books? No date required.

The Novels
prejudice
For fans of Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice set in the halls of a high school rather than the English countryside.
Continue reading

Posted in Books and Such | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Book Trailer Fail – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Special Presentation of Book Trailer Fails with the PSM Teen Book Club.  Enjoy…

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

PSM Teen Book Club – March 2014

The Teen Book Club at the Philip S. Miller Library in Castle Rock read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness this month.  It is an amazing story about life and grief and truth, and more than one teen admitted they cried while reading it, some even in class at school!  :-)   At our meeting, they got creative, and here are the results.

Continue reading

Posted in Book Club, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

2013 Teen Photography Contest Winners!

We had a great Award Reception last night in the Aloha Teen Tower to celebrate the amazing photos and the photographers who took them.  Congratulations to the following teens on their winning photos:

First Place – Morgan Bidwell

Morgan Bidwell

Second Place – Jessyca Huff

6

Third Place – Breanne Wilson

22

Honorable Mention – Mackenzie Rhoades

3

Honorable Mention – Reily Moen

20

Honorable Mention – Ryah Caskey

13

Posted in Teen Contest, Teen Photography Contest | Leave a comment