For The Love of Pete, I Need a Good Book

Fear not, fellow book loving human. Parker Library’s Teen Library Council has just the book for you… or 63 if you have a nice block of time coming up soon (*cough* summer *cough*)

TLC Pinterest

 

Posted in Books and Such, Review, TLC | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Peeps!

peepsbookcover.php Peeps.  They’re everyone’s favorite (non-chocolate) Easter candy.  Peeps: Recipes and Crafts to Make with Your Favorite Marshmallow Treat by Charity Ferreira has twenty four recipes and crafts to make using these tasty treats! Continue reading

Posted in Books and Such, TLC | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Blackout Poetry*

*No books were harmed in the composing of this poetry.

In honor of National Poetry Month, Lone Tree TLC members took sharpies to prose to create a brand-new poem. Bonus points if you can identify the original title.

poem_hate
“Hate,” by Kaysi K.
Continue reading

Posted in TLC, Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

You Too Can Haiku!

In honor of National Poetry Month the Teen Library Council (TLC) at James H. LaRue Library in Highlands Ranch created these two haikus.  Ask at your local library for the TLC meeting near you.

TLC is fun.
Tasty snacks are provided.
Hash tag (#) social hour.

It’s time to LERD* out.
Talk books and plan teen programs.
Reading feeds the soul.

*Library Nerd

Posted in TLC | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Fairy Tale Retellings

cinder coverIn honor of the Philip S. Miller Teen Book Club reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer as our April Selection, here is a list of other YA books based on classic fairy tales for your enjoyment.    There are books based Beauty and the Beast, Rapunzel, The Twelve Dancing Princesses and Sleeping Beauty represented.  If you have a favorite fairytale that you feel was left out, please let me know in the comments and I’ll try to find a book for you too!  All links will take you to the library catalog so you can see if they are available or place a hold on them if they are not.

 

Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Prom Drama: Five Novels and a Guidebook

Spring break is over. Finals are approaching. But first? Prom. The dress. The tux. The date? Oh, the drama. Forget prom-worthy looks. How about prom-worthy books? No date required.

The Novels
prejudice
For fans of Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice set in the halls of a high school rather than the English countryside.
Continue reading

Posted in Books and Such | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Book Trailer Fail – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Special Presentation of Book Trailer Fails with the PSM Teen Book Club.  Enjoy…

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

PSM Teen Book Club – March 2014

The Teen Book Club at the Philip S. Miller Library in Castle Rock read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness this month.  It is an amazing story about life and grief and truth, and more than one teen admitted they cried while reading it, some even in class at school!  :-)   At our meeting, they got creative, and here are the results.

Continue reading

Posted in Book Club, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

2013 Teen Photography Contest Winners!

We had a great Award Reception last night in the Aloha Teen Tower to celebrate the amazing photos and the photographers who took them.  Congratulations to the following teens on their winning photos:

First Place – Morgan Bidwell

Morgan Bidwell

Second Place – Jessyca Huff

6

Third Place – Breanne Wilson

22

Honorable Mention – Mackenzie Rhoades

3

Honorable Mention – Reily Moen

20

Honorable Mention – Ryah Caskey

13

Posted in Teen Contest, Teen Photography Contest | Leave a comment

2013 Teen Photo Contest Awards Ceremony

What:  2013 Teen Photography Contest Awards Ceremony

Where:  Philip S. Miller Library in Castle Rock (in the Aloha Teen Tower)

When:  Tuesday, December 10th at 6:30pm.

Please join us to view all of the amazing photos in person, meet the photographers, and get valuable feedback from one of our judges.  Prizes will be awarded based on a combination of our Judges selections and the popular vote.  Target gift certificates will be awarded to our 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Overall winners.  Certificates will also be awarded for honorable mention pieces and the popular vote winner if it differs from the top three Overall selections.

Please join us for the event!  Even if your photo is not selected as one of the top 3, you will still get some great feedback from one of our judges, Justin Balog, that will help you grow as a photographer.  Below is a little info about our judges, Justin Balog and Amy Kotha.

________________________________________________

Justin Balog gets fired up helping others discover the creativity inside themselves. As an award winning photographer, filmmaker, storyteller, educator and author he believes encouraging creativity makes the world a better place.

Justin has photographed everything from professional cycling and bull riding to landscapes and people around the world. Since its inception Justin has embraced the awe inspiring creative power of the iPhone and has become a leading pioneer in the world of iPhone photography.

His most recent work, “Big World Little Lens – The Complete Guide to iPhone Photography” can be found in the iTunes Bookstore.

You can share in his adventures on the creative frontier Monday through Friday at HOSSedia.com or socialize everyday on Facebook, Twitter and G+

_________________________________________________

Amy Kotha’s work can be found at her website AKportrait.com

Fifteen years ago, Amy purchased her first Canon camera, with plans to move from ‘amateur photographer’ to ‘serious amateur photographer’.  By a twist of fate, she was offered an assistant role to a very well-known photographer in the Cincinnati, Ohio area, and began her training in a field very different from her career in IT project management.  After photographing part-time and shooting over 25 weddings in one year, she decided to follow her heart and leave the world of IT consulting for her true passion – photography.

Since that time, Amy has relocated  to Colorado, where she has moved from a focus on wedding photography to primarily photographing families, children, and seniors.  She has also expanded her services to include film production – for non-profit, education, and consumer clients.

Posted in Teen Contest, Teen Photography Contest | Leave a comment