Books With Buzz: The Hate U Give


The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas

Every day, Starr Carter feels like she’s being torn in two. At home, she’s one person, at school she’s another. But really, she doesn’t feel like she fits in either place. She can’t be herself at the private prep school she attends because she is one of just a few black students. And she doesn’t fit in with her poor neighborhood because she attends a private prep school rather than the nearby public high school. It’s not easy, but she manages.

But then one day, she accepts a ride home from a party from a neighborhood friend, Khalil.

They get pulled over by the police.

Khalil is shot and killed.

Khalil is black.

The officer is white.

Khalil was unarmed.

As the only witness, Starr is suddenly in the middle of a national media frenzy.

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Thomas explores race with an emphatic, approachable voice. The book’s not even out yet, but there is already talk about a movie adaptation. Rumor has it Amandla Stenberg, who you’d recognize as Rue from The Hunger Games, will star as Starr. Get your name on the hold list now.

Series Alert: Crystal Storm


The fifth book in Morgan RhodesFalling Kingdoms series hits the shelves on December 13.

Request a copy today!


An epic clash between gods and mortals threatens to tear Mytica apart … and prove that not even the purest love stands a chance against the strongest magic.


Haven’t read the first four books in Falling Kingdoms? Make sure you check them out!

falling-kingdoms rebel-spring gathering-darkness frozen-tides


Swoon Reads

sandyhallAttention all YA writers: Have you heard of the awesome website Swoon Reads?

I just finished the first book it published, A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. It is a sweet and unique romance story told with 14 different perspectives. At the end of the book there is an author interview, where Sandy Hall talks about getting her book published through Swoon Reads. I looked up this website and it is a great resource for anyone interested in writing a book or reading new books. Here is some info excerpted from Swoon Reads’ FAQs page.

What is Swoon Reads?

Swoon Reads publishes young adult and new adult novels. Writers can submit their original, unpublished manuscript to the Swoon Reads website, and readers who sign up can rate and comment on manuscripts to help choose which titles are published. Swoon Reads is an imprint of Macmillan publishing under Feiwel & Friends and was founded by Jean Feiwel. For more information, please see the site’s About page.

How does the site work?

Writers can upload their unpublished, original young adult or new adult manuscript and community members are able to read, rate and comment on those submissions. The Swoon Reads staff uses community reviews and ratings to help choose which books to publish. Chosen manuscripts are published in both print and e-book formats.

Continue reading “Swoon Reads”

Series Alert: Gemina


geminaGemina, the highly anticipated sequel to Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, comes out October 18.


Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed. The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.



Series Alert: Frost Like Night


Frost Like Night, the third and final book in the Snow Like Ashes trilogy by Sara Raasch, comes out September 20, 2016.









Game of Thrones meets Graceling in this shocking and action-packed fantasy — the highly anticipated final book in the New York Times’ bestselling Snow Like Ashes series.” – HarperCollins



Other books in the series:

Snow Like Ashes

Ice Like Fire